If you are hurt on the job, or have contracted an occupational disease, you should be aware that you only have 30 days to report the accident in writing to your employer-this means either 30 days from the accident or, in the case of occupational diseases as discussed in the last post on the Workers' Compensation blog, 30 days from the first manifestation of an ongoing condition. Not many North Carolina residents may be aware of this requirement, which is why seeking the help of experienced counsel at our law firm may be in their best interests.
Many North Carolina residents would agree that children belong in fields playing, not in tobacco fields working as farmers. However, there are a number of children, often under the age of 16, working 12-hour shifts on tobacco fields. This work leaves them exposed to toxic materials and at risk of developing serious workplace diseases.
Workers' compensation is provided for through both federal and state programs and may be able to help workers who are injured or ill in a variety of ways. Family members may also be able to receive help from workers' compensation programs. In general, workers' compensation is a disability compensation program for workers. While Workers' Compensation is a federal program, states also have workers' compensation programs for non-federal workers who work for private employers. In general, workers who have been injured on the job, or who have suffered an occupational disease, can recover disability compensation through benefits that fall into different categories.