Ouch! Is your back acting up again? Well you are not alone.
Experiencing numbness in the arms, hands, or fingers -- or anywhere, for that matter -- can be a scary experience. It's only natural for your mind to go to the worst case scenario: Do I have a brain tumor? Did I have a stroke?
Many people believe that workers' compensation only applies to workplace accidents. However, injuries leading to workers' compensation benefits don't have to be caused by an isolated event. In fact, many successful claims involve damage caused by wear and tear. These are known as repetitive stress injuries, or RSIs.
Many truck drivers can file their injury claims here in North Carolina even if the driver is hurt in another state. This is because of the "jurisdiction" rules of the NC Workers' Compensation Act. The workers' compensation benefits under NC law may be better than the benefits in other states. For instance, Florida only allows 104 weeks of TTD (temporary total disability) payments. North Carolina allows up to 500 weeks of TTD. Being able to pursue your claim under North Carolina workers' comp law is important if you live here in our state. Your doctors are likely to be here near your home, and it is much easier to fight the insurance company here on your home turf than to have to travel to Kansas or Oregon to do it. Under NCGS 97-36, an injured worker can file his or her claim in North Carolina if: