Accepted Workers' Compensation Claims — Charlotte Lawyers

The Bollinger Law Firm, PC, is based in Charlotte, but takes workers' compensation cases across North Carolina.

If you have been injured at work, you likely have many questions. At The Bollinger Law Firm, PC, in Charlotte, North Carolina, we can provide the informative and effective counsel you need during this difficult time. We are trusted advocates with a reputation for achieving results for clients in workers' compensation cases. If we cannot get your claim resolved through negotiation, then we will go to court and fight for you!

Reputable North Carolina Attorneys Representing Workers Who Were Injured On The Job

Firm founder, Bobby L. Bollinger, Jr. is a Board-Certified Specialist in North Carolina Workers' Compensation Law and has earned an AV® Preeminent™ rating through Martindale-Hubbell's peer-review rating system*. His professional peers have also selected him as one of the Best Lawyers in America, and as a North Caroline "SuperLawyer." Put our experience and reputation to work for you in your work injury claim. Contact our Charlotte attorneys, whether your workers' compensation claim has been accepted or denied.

Our approach in handling your case will vary significantly depending upon whether your case has been accepted or denied by the workers' compensation insurance company.

Accepted North Carolina Work Injury Claims

An "accepted" workers' compensation claim is one in which the employer and insurance carrier have agreed to provide workers' compensation benefits to the injured worker, including:

The insurance company is allowed to direct medical treatment in accepted workers' comp cases, which means that the carrier can choose the medical facilities and doctor, and decide whether to "authorize" or cover the tests or treatment recommended by the doctors. As experienced workers' compensation lawyers, we can ensure your interests are fully preserved through this process.

How Do I Know If My Workers' Comp Claim Is Accepted?

Once your workplace injury claim is processed and action is taken by the insurance carrier and employer, you will receive a copy of the form filed by the insurance carrier. If your claim is accepted, you should receive a copy of "Form 60" or "Form 63":

  • "Form 60" is a notice to all parties and the Industrial Commission that the employer and insurance carrier are accepting liability for your on-the-job accident and injury. It should list the injured body parts being covered.
  • "Form 63" is the "Pay without Prejudice" Form, in which the insurance carrier and employer agree to cover you for now, while continuing to investigate your work-related accident and injuries. They have 90 days to deny the claim if they use "Form 63". If your Form 63 says "medical only" you may want to call us, because "medical only" is a hybrid acceptance that may cause you problems later. You may receive a copy of "Form 19" but it is meaningless and has no effect on your claim.
  • "Form 61" is a denial form, advising that your workers' compensation claim has been rejected or denied. If you get this form, you are going to need a good North Carolina Workers' Compensation lawyer. Please get in touch with us for a free consultation and case evaluation.

Contact The Bollinger Law Firm, PC

If you have questions about your accepted workers' compensation claim, have questions about the workers' compensation claim process or would like to speak with an attorney about other work injury concerns, contact us to schedule a free consultation. Our office is easily accessible for those with disabilities. Free parking is available.

Why choose us for North Carolina workers' comp claims ?

*AV Preeminent and BV Distinguished are certification marks of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer-review rating process. Ratings reflect the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and the judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell ratings fall into two categories — legal ability and general ethical standards.